Cause to Cling

Mother Hen Protecting Her Chicks.
raynoah.com/2011/10/05/shelter/

I have learned through hardships how important it is to rely on Jesus Christ.

I have learned how mighty He is to save.

I have learned how much I have yet to learn.

But one thing I know…is how great my Need is for Him, always, every moment, every day, every breath.

Psalm 63:7-8 (NIV) says, “Because you are my help, I sing in the shadow of your wings. My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me.”

In the Matthew Henry commentary, he describes this verse as such: “We are to turn to the Lord in faith and prayer as naturally as chicks, when they are cold or frightened, run under the wings of the hen.”

Of course, I loved this analogy of chickens because I love chickens. But it also helped me understand the verse on a deeper level.

Like a mother hen’s wings provide shelter and safety to her chicks, so the Lord shelters and protects us in His embrace. It is not our shadow that is seen but His because He has us completely in His embrace and is literally upholding us with His right hand.

That is why in the midst of trouble, when we are in need of help, we can sing (rejoice) because He is with us.

My soul will cling to Him. My mind, my will, my emotions all will cling to the Lord.

http//www.bagofnothing.com/2007/04/mother-hen/

It is warm in the shadow of Your wings Lord. I love to cling in your arms.

Leave a Reply

