Saying Goodbye to Charlene

Today I said goodbye.

My eyes teared up when I held her for the last time and kissed her sweet feathered head. It’s hard getting so attached, but I don’t know how to be any other way.

Charlene was a dear little hen, and she was a sweetheart.

On Friday, Lola and Charlene seemed to be in good condition so I put them back into the coop with the other girls. But sadly, today I found Charlene worse than the first time I found her injured. She’d suffered another prolapse (her organs that push out the egg were partially protruding) and she was badly bleeding. The poor girl was slipping away. Jonathan and I couldn’t stand to see her suffer a slow death so we had to put her down.

I’ll miss my darling Char, but I’ll keep her memories in my heart always.

This blog is a recap of the life she lived.

Raising Her as a Baby:

For the first few months of her life, she lived in a large wooden crate with her sisters in my sun porch. Bella loved that.

IMG_3364

Charlene is the darker chick.

IMG_3512

Finally Seeing the The Great Outdoors:

IMG_3785

IMG_3870

In the Coop and Laying Eggs:

IMG_4597

Peek-a-Boo

Playtime With Isabella:

IMG_4866

IMG_4852

IMG_4864

Her Last Week:

IMG_5671

IMG_5719

IMG_5845

IMG_5851

My Final Photo with Charlene

4 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye to Charlene

  1. Unfortunately this is the cycle of life. I’ve been on the farm 40+ years and we’ve had 1000s of cows go through and yet when one is hurt or has to go it can be hard. At times you can learn to put a barrier up between you and the animals, in fact you have to. I remember sitting in the barnyard in the shavings mixed with poop with one of my BEB’s head in my lap waiting for the vet. Just praying and crying over her. So sorry Catie but this will become part of the pattern.

  2. Oh I am so sorry. We have five hens and one rooster and just this week one hen was attacked so we have her in the garage. The kids have been so upset and we just have gotten so attached to our chickens.

  3. I’m sorry for your loss. Losing a pet can be like losing a member of the family. Praying that God will give you and your family peace and comfort during this difficult time.

Leave a Reply

