Beautiful Sounds

IMG_5075

Sometimes in life, we become bogged down with the day-to-day that we lose our hearing. Everything becomes static, and we fail to enjoy the beauty around us.

I’ve realized in the recent days how true this has been for me. Instead of looking forward to the day, I looked forward to it ending. Things would wash over me. I failed to listen and take in the moments.

But God has put a Q-tip in my ear and wiped away some stubborn thinking and revealed this verse: Philippians 3:13  (NJKV, paraphrased) “Forget those things which are behind and reach forward to those things which are ahead.”

This verse struck me upside the head and heart. Two words hit me: FORGET and REACH. These are both actions.

First, I FORGET-I actively choose to RELEASE the past. I choose to release the past hurts, pains, disappointments, sorrows, shortcomings, guilt, and failings. AND THEN…

I REACH ahead! I REACH forward. I take physical action to move forward because God wants MORE for me.

God is always available, but I have to respond by making myself available too. A relationship takes two people. God is reaching for me, now I must respond by reaching to Him.

If I choose to keep living life as a routine of busywork, just trying to get another day done and over with, that’s what my life will continue to be. But if I choose to see each day as a fresh start, full of new, unopened opportunity, then that’s what it will be.

Today, I awoke and let out my chickens. I heard the birds in the trees chirping with happiness. It was a beautiful sound.

I came into the house and my daughter was singing in the living room. My heart swelled. What a beautiful sound.

I said, “Thank Lord for improving my hearing.”

My words to Him were a beautiful sound.

IMG_5066

4 thoughts on “Beautiful Sounds

  1. I am so not techy that I have no idea why I even get an email when you post (or write) on this blog. I am happy though. What an encouragement to me today. You are a beautiful woman Catie, inside and out. 🙂

  2. God is so patient with us, and I am so happy when he can share with us what we need when we need it. Enjoyed reading about your revelation. 🙂 Keep pressing onward and upward.

Leave a Reply

