The Power of Music and Amy Grant

I am a big fan of Amy Grant. I grew up listening to Unguarded, Saved By Love, Heart in Motion, Lead On and many of her other gems. Her songs stick with me. I have a vast collection of Amy’s music. I like the jump around songs and the ones that bring me to my knees. There have been many times, I have sat with tears, listening and thinking, “Amy, you’re right on.” I also felt that way as I read through her book, Mosaic: Pieces of My Life So Far.

In 2010, my husband surprised me with tickets to see her in concert. I was recovering from a rough patch of life and her words in the song, Better than a Hallelujah ministered to me. The music moved me, changed me, and prepared me for the next step. Why? Because I experienced God in that music. I witnessed God’s presence in that music.

Here are a few of the lyrics to Better than a Hallelujah:
God loves a lullaby
In a mother’s tears in the dead of night
Better than a Hallelujah sometimes
God loves the drunkard’s cry
The soldier’s plea not to let him die
Better than a Hallelujah sometimes
We pour out our miseries
God just hears a melody
Beautiful, the mess we are
The honest cries of breaking hearts
Are better than a Hallelujah
The woman holding on for life
The dying man giving up the fight
Are better than a Hallelujah sometimes
The tears of shame for what’s been done
The silence when the words won’t come
Are better than a Hallelujah sometimes
IMG_0487

Amy Grant at the Concert in Ada, Michigan

Music is a powerful vessel. That is why I desire good, strong, and uplifting music. That’s why I listen to Amy. Her honesty in her songwriting has meant so much to me and still does.

 

http://amygrant.com

#AmyGrant #Mosaic #ChristianMusic

Leave a Reply

