Canning Sauces, Jellies, Fruits, and Teas.

I have taken up the tradition of canning. My grandmother passed her jars down to me, and now I’m becoming a canning machine.

I’ve done a variety of things so far this year. I made my own homemade Italian Tomato Sauce with fresh garden tomatoes. I canned pears from my friend’s Pear Tree. I made applesauce from apples picked at Cranes Orchard and Schwallier’s Country Basket. And recently I made grape jelly and three kinds of tea! Are you proud of me, Martha Stewart?

IMG_9480

Some of my canned jars.

MAKING GRAPE JELLY:

Yesterday, I canned Grape Jelly. My neighbor had already done the hard part of extracting the juice from fresh grapes, and since she had a abundance and was tired of canning, she blessed me with two pitchers of grape juice! What a sweetheart. First, I canned 3 quarts of the concentrate for later use. With 5 and 1/2 cups of grape juice, 3 and 1/2 cups of sugar, and a box of SURE JELL premium fruit pectin, I made Jelly! It was simple as following the instructions inside the SURE JELL box. After I made the jelly, I ladled the piping hot liquid into the jars and boiled them in my canner pot. The Jelly set up after about 24 hours.

IMG_9457

Boiling the Jars

 

IMG_9479

Finished Grape Jelly

MAKING TEA FROM FRESH PLANTS: 

Step One: Dry the plants

IMG_9443

Drying the tea plants. Lemon Balm and Apple Tree Mint

IMG_9445

Chocolate Mint Leaves. Make sure to air out all of sections of the plants regularly so mold won’t form.

IMG_9446

Pull leaves off the stems and process them in a blender.

IMG_9449

Learning more everyday about living a self-sustaining lifestyle.

One thought on “Canning Sauces, Jellies, Fruits, and Teas.

Leave a Reply

