A Valentine’s Day Story: Saying “I Love You”

DSCN1264

The first time you tell your special someone, “I Love You,” is a big deal. That’s why, it’s not a bad idea to have a plan. A plan for WHEN you’d like to say it, WHERE you’d like to say, and more importantly, HOW you’d like to say it. Maybe if I had a plan, I wouldn’t have botched it up so bad.

My husband and I have been married now for almost ten years. But this story, takes place when we were dating. It had been only five months into our relationship, but I knew he was the one I wanted to marry. I knew I loved him and wanted to tell him. I also knew, I wasn’t going to be the first to say it.

We were on the highway, heading to my parent’s house after a date. The next day, he would be leaving for a week-long work trip. Caught up in my emotions, words flowed from my mouth without restraint. “I’m really going to miss you. I enjoy being with you, and I never tire of spending time with you. I’m so glad you’re in my life, and I love you so much.” As soon as that phrase escaped my lips, I froze.

He glanced over at me, and I saw his shock.

I looked like a deer caught in the headlights. My mind raced, trying to figure out a way to fix my error. So I blurted, “I mean–I love you–as in the love of Lord.”

A big smile came to his face. “The love of the Lord, huh?”

My cheeks were blazing hot with embarrassment. I felt like an idiot.

“Well, I love you too,” he paused. “In the love of the Lord, of course.”

I had to laugh in spite of myself. “Thanks.”

Then the laughter left his face, leaving only tenderness. “And, I love you, Catie.”

I melted. “I love you, too.”

Leave a Reply

