Saying Goodbye to Three Sweet Hens

This morning, I went out to collect eggs inside the hen house. My two little children tagged along beside me as they usually do. What we found upon entering reduced me to tears.

Last night a predator, we’re thinking it was a raccoon, got inside the henhouse and wreaked havoc on my precious chickens. Three of my hens were dead and missing large parts of themselves. One of the girls is limping badly. I love my chickens. They are my little girls. They lay eggs like champions and always greet me at the gate. I have even given each one a name based on her personality. Today, I said goodbye to Josephina, Ginger, and Aretha. They were sweet, and I hate that they died this way.

IMG_9286

Ginger, she always strut around like the model on Gilligan’s Island.

IMG_9295

Josephina, aka Josie

IMG_7585

Aretha. She would always pause, kneel slightly and let me pick her up. She liked to be held and petted.

Needless to say, does anyone know a good type of trap that will catch medium sized predators?

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye to Three Sweet Hens

  1. I’m sorry, so sad. Predator proofing your coop is a sure thing, trapping is temporary. There’s always going to be another predator. Consider putting hardware cloth or chicken wire underneath your coop so coons and such can’t dig underneath it.

  2. I’m so sorry!! That is horrible. I know you get really attached to the girls. I’ll ask around about some safety tips for the house.

  3. Just want you to know I’m praying that God will mend your broken heart . I love you and Jon. Blessings from the Behmlander’s 🙀😍😻

  4. it has been my experience that racoons typically eat the head first and will often take a part just to make sure the bird bleeds out…, my guess is that you didn’t smell a skunk, but typically they eat the chest and leave the rest. Opossum in my experience also take parts but usually leave the heads… not sure where you live but fisher cats/fox/bear/cougars will take the whole birds. Bummer is that whatever it is will likely be back have a heart are nice, but removing the predator permantly might be the best solution. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

