Navajo Blessingway Prayer- Walking in Beauty

play-horses-853894_640

I have loved the Native American culture since I was young, and I’ve been an avid collector of Native American pottery, figurines, dream catchers, pictures, etc. Anyone who entered my childhood bedroom knew I was obsessed. I would dream of being a Navajo, and I had literally watched the movie “Indian Captive” over twenty times. To this day, I still find the Native American customs and culture fascinating. In the future, I plan to publish a series featuring the Navajo. They had such a remarkable way of life, and they tuned their eyes to see beauty in everything. Below is one of their common prayers.

Navajo Blessingway Prayer – Walking in Beauty

In beauty I walk.

I walk with beauty before me.
I walk with beauty behind me.
I walk with beauty below me.
I walk with beauty above me.
I walk with beauty around me.
My words will be beautiful.
In beauty all day long may I walk.

Today I will walk out, today everything negative will leave me
.
I will be as I was before, I will have a cool breeze over my body.
I will have a light body, I will be happy forever, nothing will hinder me.

Through the returning seasons, may I walk.
On the trail marked with pollen may I walk.
With dew about my feet, may I walk.
With beauty before me may I walk.
With beauty behind me may I walk.
With beauty below me may I walk.
With beauty above me may I walk.
With beauty all around me may I walk.

My words will be beautiful…

Image Reference: https://pixabay.com/en/play-horses-horses-brown-black-853894/

Leave a Reply

