My Children’s Book For My Nephew: Superhero Levi

I wrote and illustrated a book for my nephew, Levi for his birthday. I entitled it, “Superhero Levi.” This book is in honor of Levi and all the other children who defy the odds regardless of their disabilities. (I illustrated all the pictures on watercolor paper and then my mother, Cindy, helped me paint them.)

Here is my book (I had it printed in hardcover). I hope you enjoy it.

cover

 

 

 

Hi, I’m Levi.
I might look like a regular boy,
But I’m actually a superhero.
How do I know?
Because people cheer for me wherever I go.
staples-scan-01-07-2017_17-28-09-868-1

 

I can climb mountains that mom calls the stairs.
It’s hard work getting way up there.
But when I reach the top, everyone claps.
I feel quite proud of that.
I smile at them and know…
They like watching this superhero.

staples-scan-01-07-2017_17-25-44-399-1

Day and night, I have a super appetite.
Bananas, chicken, pasta, or cookies
I’ll eat them up, thank you and please.
But green beans are no delight.
Because even heroes have a kryptonite.

green-beans

 

It’s hard work being a superhero.
People always want to take my photo.
At school and at home, I smile most polite.
Mom shares my poses on Facebook.
And I usually get a hundred Likes.

epson003-1

 

I’ve learned a lot about my powers through exploring.
I can turn a bowl into a hat. Only a superhero could do that.

staples-scan-01-07-2017_17-25-08-616-1

 

When I press a button on the big box in the kitchen,
I can make water pour out.
Dad and Mom show up real quick,
And they let out an impressed shout!

 

staples-scan-01-07-2017_17-26-18-522-1

 

I can swim in big pools,
And push my wheels around the whole school.

staples-scan-01-07-2017_17-26-56-583-1

 

A big yellow bus,
chauffeurs me from my house.
The girls like to hold my hand.
What can I say?
They can’t resist a superman!

epson003-1

 

No bars can hold me in.
My strength can even break the crib.
They try to fix it, but are unsuccessful.
Nothing can restrain my super muscle.

staples-scan-01-07-2017_17-28-39-609-1
I think my cousins might have powers too.
There are so many things that they can do.
Like run, flip, and jump, just to name a few.
We have lots of fun together…
Dancing, singing, and playing whatever.

 

epson004-1

I’ve heard it said that I have a syndrome.
Maybe this is why I’m so special?
Maybe this is why I’m so strong?
I’m not actually sure what this word means.
But I know if I work hard, I can do anything.
I won’t ever give up.
I’m built super tough.
No matter what life may throw,
I can take it.
Because I’m a superhero!

cover

5 thoughts on “My Children’s Book For My Nephew: Superhero Levi

Leave a Reply

